How to delete WordPress account completely
You may want to delete your wordpress.com account for some reasons one of which may be moving your website to a new domain, and you don’t want a duplicate content on the internet. Or maybe your business is closing down. Whichever is the case here is how to delete WordPress account completely.
Log in to your wordpress.com account. Note that if you have a premium upgrade of either of the following you may need to remove it before proceeding otherwise, you won’t be able to delete your account.
Any of this upgrades should be removed first. Custom Domain, Premium Theme, Domain Mapping, Premium or Business Plan, Or Any other upgrade.
I will advise that you back up your content for safekeeping because once your account is deleted you won’t be able to access it ever again.
So log in to your wordpress.com account the URL should look like this yourwebsite.wordpress.com. Click on the “My Sites”. You will see the below page
Next, click on “setting”.
In the setting page, go down to the “delete your site permanently” section
Here is how the page looks.
Note that under the “delete your site permanently there is a note that says “Delete all your posts, pages, media, data and give up your site’s address”. Even after you click the delete button you will still be given a final opportunity to back up or have a copy of all your website data. So you will be presented with the below screen to export your site’s content before the final deletion because this action is irretrievable.
If you click the export content button your files, that is, your entire website data will be put in a zipped folder on your computer and then you can have access to it if and when you decide to either open another WordPress account or you decide to upload to another server and domain. If you decide you don’t want to export then scroll down to the delete button. But if you decide to export then click the export to get all your site data before proceeding to the delete button. Make sure you see the account for which you want to delete in the yellow bar. like this
After you click the delete button you will be shown a confirmation screen to confirm your account deletion by retyping your site address into the bar.
This is the final stage of how to delete your wordpress account completely
You may likely encounter a problem while trying to delete your account. This could only mean one thing that you have an upgrade or a premium theme,a custom domain or other upgrades associated with the account you want to delete.
How to delete wordpress account completely by first deleting your upgrade
To remove your upgrade. Click on the “manage upgrades” button of the premium upgrades box that prevented your account from being deleted.
You will be taken to the following screen after you clicked the manage upgrades button.
Next click on the forward arrow to see “manage purchase” in the manage purchase screen scroll down to see all your details including your credit card account the purchase date, amount and of course the button to cancel your upgraded account. Click the “Cancel yoursitedomain.com”. Be notified that purchased products that have exceeded their refund period will remain active until their expiration date.
If you still want to completely cancel all purchases. Then you’ll find a link in your “manage purchases” screen after you click the cancel button. That says “Remove wordpress.com Premium”. You can now click on the link to completely remove your purchases and your account.
Next, you will find another link right below your domain that says “Cancel all private registration”. Click on it to take you back to the “how to delete WordPress account completely”. Follow the link to the domain manager and click on the delete button to remove your account. This is all there is to How to delete WordPress account completely.